National Board of Directors

The Credit Institute of Canada is governed by a National Board of Directors. The National Directors are elected by their respective regions and may serve up to six years in their position. An Executive Committee is elected from the National Board of Directors and is comprised of a President and Dean, a Vice-President, and a Treasurer. The President and Dean is also the Chair on the National Board of Directors.

President and DeanEd Walsh, CCE, CCP8740c00dbce9-78eb-4ae2-9cd6-ae9ac6ed27ed
Vice PresidentDavid Hopkyns, ACI2084808358803-55eb-4794-bdf4-eae6999e58f0
SecretaryNawshad Khadaroo, CCP10009608742fe-9a03-4012-bc1c-eeafbe379ffa
TreasurerWilliam Willoughby, CCP, CPA (US)21102a811c0ff-4553-4b1c-9095-8cdc34c719f9
Directeur National - Province du QuebecGuy Barbeau, CCP, MBA10984d4a98b20-2c5a-4aba-a5f0-053486373b81
National Director - AtlanticVacant 448054fc8d9aa-6e87-4a78-a1f6-2f6d74b0b063
National Director - British ColumbiaDavid Lundrigan, CCP8200a01961c0-9e51-4df2-aa74-5bd82d6266d6
National Director - OntarioGeorge Brown, CCP, CPA, CIA, CRMA2246984ee65f0-4f05-4278-aee0-25782b1bcb1d
National Director - OntarioLina Chindamo, CCP124158b929b5f-378c-47c0-89ad-b4e46996f060
National Director - OntarioSandra King, CCP318666e143709-feed-4e2e-8548-ad165eb30c2e
National Director - OntarioKenneth Young, CCP (Emeritus)45201441590c-b4b9-4765-8016-78085c723262
National Director - PrairiesDavid Hopkyns, ACI2084808358803-55eb-4794-bdf4-eae6999e58f0
National Director - PrairiesPeter Smith, CPA, CA, CCP2213560598e18-6448-4185-9468-fbc2cac02674

Notice of Appointment


The Credit Institute of Canada is pleased to announce the appointment of Ed Walsh, CCP as the Chairman, President & Dean of its National Board of Directors for the term 2021-2023.  

An experienced business leader, Ed Walsh, CCP succeeds Jay McKeown, CCP who completed his term as Chairman, President & Dean from 2019-2021. Ed has been active in the underwriting and credit community for over 25 years. Having managed teams of 5 to 44 and over a half-billion dollars in assets, he brings knowledge from diverse industries and interactions all across the globe.   

“I have known Ed Walsh for over 20 years, through work, where we were colleagues, as well as through the Credit Institute, where we both served on the National Board of Directors.” said Jay McKeown, outgoing Chairman, President & Dean. “He is a consummate professional, a dedicated volunteer, and a good friend. The Credit Institute of Canada is in great hands. Well done, Ed.” 

Ed received his CCP designation in 2000 from the Credit Institute of Canada and a member in good standing since then. Prior to being elected to the Board of Directors in 2017, Ed was an active and contributing member at various local chapters. With a B.A. and several professional designations, he has a lifelong approach to learning and professional development. An active member of professional associations and boards he is committed to building productive relationships and giving back to the community

About Credit Institute of Canada
Created by a special Act of Parliament in 1928, the Credit Institute of Canada is the only Canadian organization that grants official designations to professionals in the credit field.